Capital Development Authority of Bangladesh Lottery result of Uttara Apartment,'March'-2019
Forgot Password?
Register Now!
Home Innovation SPS Right To Information Contact Us FAQ Forms & Acts Detailed Area Plan Planning Development Development Control Projects Citizen Charter News Notice Office Order Notice Archive Building Plan Land Acquisition Online Application Private Housing Enlisted Professionals Plot Allotment Result Annual Performance Agreement Natoinal Integrity
Strategy's Implementation
Workplan of Rajuk
Web Mail Plot Based Land Record System GRS
Dhaka Map
Have Any Suggestion ?
Send your feedback ,Please
e-RAJUK Home : About RAJUK
History of RAJUK

In 1947, when India was partitioned, Dhaka became the seat of the provincial government of East Pakistan. The population increased from 0.28 million in 1951 to around 1.2 million in 1971. As the Capital of Bangladesh, which emerged as an independent country after the War of Liberation in 1971, Dhaka has now become one of the fasted growing cities in the world and its population is likely to exceed 16 million by this time. RAJUK is trying to make the capital city Dhaka-a planned, livable and environment friendly city. To fulfill the goal of achieving a planned city. RAJUK has taken initiative to make it livable through solving housing, transportation problems and creation of large scale water based public space/open space like Hatirjheel integrated project.

Formation of the Dhaka Improvement Trust (DIT)

The 'Dhaka Improvement Trust' (DIT) was established in 1956 under the provision of the 'Town Improvement Act -1953' (TI Act 1953). The objectives of the Act are aiming to improve physical and urban condition of the Dhaka City. DIT was a corporate body having supreme planning and development control power within its jurisdiction.

Governance and Trustee Board:

To govern DIT, a Trustee Board was constituted with Seven Members as per provisions of the Town Improvement Act 1953. Two other Members included when the district of Narayanganj incorporated within the jurisdiction of DIT. The Chairman and three other Trustees were appointed by the government notification. The members of the Trustee Board were chosen from different service agencies and different professions to involve and contribute in the development process of Dhaka. The Chairman of Dhaka Water Supply and Sewerage Authority, the Deputy Commissioner of Dhaka, the Chairman of Dhaka Municipal Committee, the Chief Engineer of Public Health and Engineering Department, and the Chairman of Narayanganj Municipal Committee were ex-officio trusts.


The Trustee Board was involved in policy making, planning and development control of Dhaka. Conventionally, the Board called on general and special meeting to take decisions and actions on raising problems. The major functions of the organization dealt with preparation of development plans, widening roads and reduce traffic congestions, lay out plans for better traffic circulation, providing open spaces for recreation, demolishing or constructing buildings and construction of roads, bridges and culverts. Acquiring of land under Town Improvement Act 1953 for area development, providing urban facilities and services for public uses and for improvement schemes.

Emergence of the Rajdhani Unnayan Kartripakkha (RAJUK)
[The Capital Development Authority]

The Rajdhani Unnayan Kartripakkha (RAJUK) had been emerged through the ongoing crisis of planned and controlled development of Dhaka City. RAJUK established in April 30, 1987 by replacing Dhaka Improvement Trust (DIT). The prime intension of the organization was to develop, improve, extend and manage the city and the peripheral areas through a process of proper development planning and development control.

Governance and Executive Bodies:

Rajdhani Unnayan Kartripakkha (RAJUK) governed by the Chairman and five other Members appointed by the Government. They are full time officials and the Chairman is the Chief Executive of the Authority. The overall responsibilities and functions of the Chairman and the Members are prescribed and assigned by the government. The Chairman presides all the meetings of the Authority. Special meeting commences at the request of the Chairman to address urgently raised issues. In his absence, a Member authorized by the Chairman preceded the meeting. The agenda of meeting includes issues related to development policies, development projects and development controls; land acquisitions, land disposals and organizational matters.

© 2011 RAJUK. All rights reserved.